Some inspiring words to give me courage to move forward

It is that time of year for me to start studying for the MCATs again. I can’t help but feel extremely anxious about taking this challenge on for the second time. I keep doubting myself and the thoughts that keep running through my head are putting a lot of pressure on me – “You’ve got to make it this time”, “What are you going to do if this doesn’t work out?”, “What if you’re not meant for this?”, etc.

I came upon this quote on my sister’s blog and I felt it gave me a new perspective on my fears, and a positive boost.

Albert Einstein during a lecture in Vienna in 1921

Albert Einstein (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“I must be willing to give up what I am now in order to become what I will be” – Albert Einstein

When I was younger, I never even considered the idea of becoming a doctor. In fact, I hated anything science-y and after getting a D in my first chemistry class in high school, I vowed never to take any science courses again. I headed off to college planning on going into business and marketing. Having discovered very late in my college career my passion for psychology, I felt I was far behind others that had been planning on going to medical school early on. All I knew was that I would need to complete the prerequisite courses if I was going to even have it be a possibility later on. I dove into that challenge and was surprised to see that I ended up doing pretty well. However, I always felt different than those around me trying for the same goal. I still don’t feel like I measure up to the competition and I let that discourage me significantly. After reading that quote, I got to thinking, and I realized that there is no one holding me back – but me. I may not be like the other pre-med contenders out there, but that doesn’t mean I can’t do this. I can be just as good as any of them, and I’ll do it my way. But more importantly, I just need to get out of my head, buckle down, and just do it.

Just needed to give myself a mini pep-talk.

Anyone have any inspirational quotes they would like to share with me to keep me thinking positive?

A

Leave a Reply

